RIP Connie Weldon

Tubas, euphoniums, mouthpieces, and anything music-related.
Forum rules
This section is for posts that are directly related to performance, performers, or equipment. Social issues are allowed, as long as they are directly related to those categories. If you see a post that you cannot respond to with respect and courtesy, we ask that you do not respond at all.
Mark E. Chachich

RIP Connie Weldon

Post by Mark E. Chachich »

Connie Weldon passed away August 7, 2020 and some of her former students had a virtual memorial for her. It is touching to me to see that many of Connie's students still feel a connection. I studied with Connie at the University of Miami (1970s). I remember when I told her that I changed career directions from music to science, she said that she was proud of her students no matter what career path they took.

Connie was a great teacher and a great person. Her students include Sam Pilafian, Mike Roylance, James Jenkins and other tubists that played professionally as well as people that went to nonmusical careers.

Connie had been the Acting Principal Tuba in the Concertgebouw Orchestra (she was on a Fulbright and was required to come back to the U.S.) and the Netherlands Ballet Orkest. She was also in the Boston Pops Touring Orchestra, Miami Philharmonic, Kansas City Philharmonic, North Carolina Symphony, the Sammy Spear Orchestra (on the Jackie Gleason Show), and many others. She taught tuba at the University of Miami and directed the tuba ensemble. Connie went on to become the Associate Dean of the University of Miami School of Music.

Mark

Life Member Baltimore Musician's Union Local 40-543
Life Member International Tuba Euphonium Association (ITEA)
Ph.D. Experimental Psychology, Behavioral Neuroscience (a musician can do almost anything!)
rodgeman

Re: RIP Connie Weldon

Post by rodgeman »

The New York Times ran this today.

Constance Weldon, Pioneering Virtuoso of the Tuba, Dies at 88.