Polka/Oktoberfest music

Tubas, euphoniums, mouthpieces, and anything music-related.
Forum rules
This section is for posts that are directly related to performance, performers, or equipment. Social issues are allowed, as long as they are directly related to those categories. If you see a post that you cannot respond to with respect and courtesy, we ask that you do not respond at all.
arpthark

Polka/Oktoberfest music

Post by arpthark »

Okay, polka nerds, looking for some recommendations:

I recently joined up in a brass ensemble (about 8 players). Instrumentation is fairly flexible as a few of us are doublers. This holiday season we've been getting quite a few gigs at municipal events, breweries, etc. playing Christmas music.

We'd like to expand our repertoire, especially having made some contacts at these breweries, in anticipation of next year's Oktoberfest season.

I am a complete noob to this type of music, but I love listening to it. I know the typical Oktoberfest group has accordion, etc. but my questions are:

Are there any good brass-only Oktoberfest arrangements out there that you'd recommend?

What are the classics that are must-listens/must-plays?

I'm a decent arranger, so I can whip something up if there's not any prearranged material out there, but I figured this crowd has some knowledge of where to start.

Blake
acemorgan

Re: Polka/Oktoberfest music

Post by acemorgan »

The key term for an Internet search is blasmusik. There are a lot of ensembles in Europe that are doing folk stuff, including polkas, with just brass. You might be able to connect with a European publisher.