Zen and the Art of Tuba Maintenance

Projects, repair topics, and Frankentubas
arpthark

Zen and the Art of Tuba Maintenance

Post by arpthark »

Playing music is a hobby of mine that I am occasionally able to monetize, but over the past year and a half or so (because it takes me SO long for me to finally commit to a project, after fretting and fussing over planning, finances and everything over a multi-month span), I've really gotten interested in instrument repair.

I am definitely not good at it yet -- I am a bonafide hobbyist. But it's really satisfying when I am able to make a good solder joint and clean it up, or take a dent out and have it look halfway decent.

Outside of spending time with my family, when I am able, I love to be able to just go out to my workshop, start a fire in the woodstove, and mess around with stuff. When I have a process in place -- like, disassembling or reassembling rotary valves, or something like that -- it's easy to zone out and let the mind wander. It's nice and sort of relaxing.

I am sure those of you who make instrument repair your profession don't find it as relaxing at this point, especially when you are beating the crap out of stuff, sweating, buffing, all that jazz. But the little stuff, bench stuff, is just oddly meditative. Being able to find a problem, identify it, come up with a solution, and execute it -- that's pretty cool.

That's all I got. Just pontificating.
These users thanked the author arpthark for the post:
Dents Be Gone! (Fri Nov 03, 2023 1:08 pm)

Dents Be Gone!

Post by Dents Be Gone! »

I agree, guys. This is the way to go.
Last edited by Dents Be Gone! on Wed May 01, 2024 10:02 am, edited 1 time in total.
These users thanked the author Dents Be Gone! for the post:
bloke (Fri Nov 03, 2023 11:09 pm)
arpthark

Re: Zen and the Art of Tuba Maintenance

Post by arpthark »

I don't have any customers, so there is just one human hemorrhoid I have to deal with -- me!
DonO.

Post by DonO. »