Firm corners

Tubas, euphoniums, mouthpieces, and anything music-related.
Forum rules
This section is for posts that are directly related to performance, performers, or equipment. Social issues are allowed, as long as they are directly related to those categories. If you see a post that you cannot respond to with respect and courtesy, we ask that you do not respond at all.
Erik_Sweden

Firm corners

Post by Erik_Sweden »

Hi all,

Since I'm self-taught on tuba I don't know, and like to ask following: I see on YT and read often about firm corners, but how firm is firm corners?

Miraphone Hagen 497
LeMark
Site Admin

Re: Firm corners

Post by LeMark »

say the word "pepper"

make note of what your corners feel like while you say that

there you go
These users thanked the author LeMark for the post:
MN_TimTuba (Mon Apr 12, 2021 12:43 pm)
Yep, I'm Mark
bloke
Mid South Music

Post by bloke »

Maybe, something to go by - with any technique - is "If it works better than another technique doing something in particular, utilize that technique until you stumble across an even better one"...I guess...(??)

Another "thing" (probably) is to "Pay way more attention to how you sound than to how you're making that sound".

BUT...??

"If you catch a glimpse of yourself in the mirror, and like like what you're doing is way different that people who sound better than you, (at least) trying making yourself look like you're doing what they do".
Erik_Sweden

Post by Erik_Sweden »

LeMark wrote: Sun Apr 11, 2021 3:08 pm say the word "pepper"

make note of what your corners feel like while you say that

there you go
First this made no sense at all, but when I try to sound like an American (and not as a Swede) it made me understand what you ment :)
Miraphone Hagen 497
donn

Post by donn »

Hm ... it didn't really make all that much sense to me, so I took it as a sort of odd way to say "don't worry, if your lips close that's firm enough."